Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Morgan County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of West Liberty is the Seat for Morgan County.

Morgan County was founded in 1822. Morgan was created by taking area from Bath and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Morgan had a population of 14,092 people. This is an increase of 1.03% since the last Census (which gave a population of 13,948 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Morgan represented 0.35% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 79th most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201013,923-0.18%-1.2% since 2009
200914,092+1.03%-0.52% since 2008
200814,165+1.56%-0.67% since 2007
200013,948The Last Census

More information can be found on the Morgan County Census Page for Morgan County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Cities, Towns and Villages of Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation