Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Floyd County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Prestonsburg is the Seat for Floyd County.

Floyd County was founded in 1800. Floyd was created by taking area from Fleming, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Floyd had a population of 41,899 people. This is a decrease of 1.28% since the last Census (which gave a population of 42,441 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Floyd represented 1.05% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201039,451-7.05%-5.84% since 2009
200941,899-1.28%-0.18% since 2008
200841,975-1.1%-0.13% since 2007
200042,441The Last Census

More information can be found on the Floyd County Census Page for Floyd County.


Below are some of the communities located in Floyd County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Floyd County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Prestonsburg   3,8313,6126.06% increase  
Wheelwright   1,1901,04214.2% increase  
Martin   6246331.42% decrease  
Wayland   2872983.69% decrease  
Allen   1471502% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Search for a Community in Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation