Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Monroe County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Tompkinsville is the Seat for Monroe County.

Monroe County was founded in 1820. Monroe was created by taking area from Barren and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Monroe had a population of 11,569 people. This is a decrease of 1.59% since the last Census (which gave a population of 11,756 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Monroe represented 0.29% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 92nd most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,963-6.75%-5.24% since 2009
200911,569-1.59%+0.5% since 2008
200811,512-2.08%-1.19% since 2007
200011,756The Last Census

More information can be found on the Monroe County Census Page for Monroe County.


Below are some of the communities located in Monroe County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Monroe County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Tompkinsville   2,6102,6601.88% decrease  
Gamaliel   4264392.96% decrease  
Fountain Run   2392361.27% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

The Communities of Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation