Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Lawrence County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Louisa is the Seat for Lawrence County.

Lawrence County was founded in 1821. Lawrence was created by taking area from Greenup and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lawrence had a population of 16,573 people. This is an increase of 6.45% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,569 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lawrence represented 0.39% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 71st most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201015,860+1.87%-4.3% since 2009
200916,573+6.45%+0.64% since 2008
200816,467+5.77%+0.85% since 2007
200015,569The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lawrence County Census Page for Lawrence County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Find a Community located in Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation