Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Bourbon County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Paris is the Seat for Bourbon County.

Bourbon County was founded in 1785 and was created by taking area from FayetteCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Bourbon had a population of 19,729 people. This is an increase of 1.91% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,360 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Bourbon represented 0.48% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 55th most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,985+3.23%+1.3% since 2009
200819,732+1.92%+0.61% since 2007
200019,360The Last Census

More information can be found on the Bourbon County Census Page for Bourbon County.


Below are some of the communities located in Bourbon County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Bourbon County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Paris   9,1969,1830.14% increase  
Millersburg   8628422.38% increase  
North Middletown   5535621.6% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

The Communities of Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation