Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kentucky

Time Zone: Fayette County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lexington is the Seat for Fayette County.

Fayette County is one of the original counties of Kentucky and was founded in 1780.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Fayette had a population of 296,545 people. This is an increase of 13.83% since the last Census (which gave a population of 260,512 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Fayette represented 6.45% of the total population of Kentucky, making it the state's 2nd most populous county (out of 120 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010295,803+13.55%-0.25% since 2009
2009296,545+13.83%+1.47% since 2008
2008292,240+12.18%+1.73% since 2007
2000260,512The Last Census

More information can be found on the Fayette County Census Page for Fayette County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kentucky

Communities in Kentucky

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation