Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Taylor County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bedford is the Seat for Taylor County.

Taylor County was founded February 24, 1847 and was created by taking area from PageCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Taylor had a population of 6,344 people. This is a decrease of 8.82% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,958 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Taylor represented 0.24% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 95th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,317-9.21%-0.43% since 2009
20096,344-8.82%+0.11% since 2008
20086,337-8.92%-1.37% since 2007
20006,958The Last Census

More information can be found on the Taylor County Census Page for Taylor County.


Below are some of the communities located in Taylor County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Taylor County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bedford   1,4701,6209.26% decrease  
New Market   39545613.38% decrease  
Gravity   2022187.34% decrease  
Blockton   17019211.46% decrease  
Sharpsburg   91987.14% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

The Communities of Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation