Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Mahaska County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Oskaloosa is the Seat for Mahaska County.

Mahaska County was founded February 17, 1843.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Mahaska had a population of 22,000 people. This is a decrease of 1.5% since the last Census (which gave a population of 22,335 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Mahaska represented 0.76% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 27th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201022,381+0.21%+1.73% since 2009
200922,000-1.5%-0.54% since 2008
200822,120-0.96%+0.13% since 2007
200022,335The Last Census

More information can be found on the Mahaska County Census Page for Mahaska County.


Below are some of the communities located in Mahaska County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Mahaska County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Oskaloosa   10,89510,9380.39% decrease  
New Sharon   1,2951,3010.46% decrease  
Eddyville   1,0491,0641.41% decrease  
Fremont   6737044.4% decrease  
University Park   5295361.31% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Find a Community located in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation