Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Humboldt County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dakota City is the Seat for Humboldt County.

Humboldt County was founded February 26, 1857 and was created by taking area from WebsterCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Humboldt had a population of 9,473 people. This is a decrease of 8.75% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,381 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Humboldt represented 0.35% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 78th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,815-5.45%+3.61% since 2009
20099,473-8.75%-0.96% since 2008
20089,565-7.86%-0.63% since 2007
200010,381The Last Census

More information can be found on the Humboldt County Census Page for Humboldt County.


Below are some of the communities located in Humboldt County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Humboldt County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Humboldt   4,1914,4525.86% decrease  
Dakota City   8209119.99% decrease  
Gilmore City   48155613.49% decrease  
Livermore   35543117.63% decrease  
Bode   2963279.48% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Find a Community located in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation