Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Henry County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Mount Pleasant is the Seat for Henry County.

Henry County was founded December 7, 1836.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Henry had a population of 19,929 people. This is a decrease of 2% since the last Census (which gave a population of 20,336 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Henry represented 0.69% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 34th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201020,145-0.94%+1.08% since 2009
200919,929-2%-0.69% since 2008
200820,067-1.32%-0.33% since 2007
200020,336The Last Census

More information can be found on the Henry County Census Page for Henry County.


Below are some of the communities located in Henry County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Henry County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Mount Pleasant   8,6738,7510.89% decrease  
New London   1,7931,9377.43% decrease  
Winfield   1,0591,1316.37% decrease  
Wayland   9329451.38% decrease  
Salem   4434644.53% decrease  

Websites for Henry County

Official Website:   www.co.henry.ia.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Henry County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Cities, Towns and Villages of Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation