Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Screven County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sylvania is the Seat for Screven County.

Screven County was founded in 1793. Screven was created by taking area from Burke and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Screven had a population of 15,054 people. This is a decrease of 2.08% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,374 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Screven represented 0.19% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 100th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201014,593-5.08%-3.06% since 2009
200915,054-2.08%-0.15% since 2008
200815,076-1.94%+0.19% since 2007
200015,374The Last Census

More information can be found on the Screven County Census Page for Screven County.


Below are some of the communities located in Screven County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Screven County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Sylvania   2,7172,6751.57% increase  
Hiltonia   36642113.06% decrease  
Newington   3003226.83% decrease  
Oliver   22425311.46% decrease  
Rocky Ford   1691869.14% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Search for a Georgia Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation