Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Jefferson County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Louisville is the Seat for Jefferson County.

Jefferson County was founded in 1796. Jefferson was created by taking area from Burke and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jefferson had a population of 16,478 people. This is a decrease of 4.56% since the last Census (which gave a population of 17,266 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jefferson represented 0.21% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 92nd most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,930-1.95%+2.74% since 2009
200916,478-4.56%+0.42% since 2008
200816,409-4.96%+0.15% since 2007
200017,266The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jefferson County Census Page for Jefferson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jefferson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jefferson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Louisville   2,7112,712  
Wrens   2,1962,3145.1% decrease  
Wadley   1,9342,0887.38% decrease  
Stapleton   3153180.94% decrease  
Bartow   27522323.32% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Visit our Community Index for Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation