Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Dawson County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dawsonville is the Seat for Dawson County.

Dawson County was founded in 1857. Dawson was created by taking area from Gilmer and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dawson had a population of 22,555 people. This is an increase of 40.98% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,999 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dawson represented 0.2% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 95th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201022,330+39.57%-1% since 2009
200922,555+40.98%+2.04% since 2008
200822,104+38.16%+2.32% since 2007
200015,999The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dawson County Census Page for Dawson County.


Websites for Dawson County

Official Website:   www.dawsoncounty.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Dawson County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Find a Community in Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation