Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Lumpkin County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dahlonega is the Seat for Lumpkin County.

Lumpkin County was founded in 1832. Lumpkin was created by taking area from Cherokee, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lumpkin had a population of 27,528 people. This is an increase of 30.99% since the last Census (which gave a population of 21,016 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lumpkin represented 0.26% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 81st most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201029,966+42.59%+8.86% since 2009
200927,528+30.99%+1.22% since 2008
200827,195+29.4%+2.21% since 2007
200021,016The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lumpkin County Census Page for Lumpkin County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation