Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Woodruff County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Augusta is the Seat for Woodruff County.

Woodruff County was founded in 1862. Woodruff was created by taking area from Jackson and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Woodruff had a population of 7,359 people. This is a decrease of 15.81% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,741 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Woodruff represented 0.33% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 70th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,260-16.94%-1.35% since 2009
20097,359-15.81%-1.51% since 2008
20087,472-14.52%-2.45% since 2007
20008,741The Last Census

More information can be found on the Woodruff County Census Page for Woodruff County.


Below are some of the communities located in Woodruff County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Woodruff County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Augusta   2,2142,66516.92% decrease  
McCrory   1,5351,85017.03% decrease  
Cotton Plant   81596015.1% decrease  
Patterson   39046716.49% decrease  
Hunter   12915215.13% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Find a Community in Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation