Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Saint Francis County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Forrest City is the Seat for Saint Francis County.

Saint Francis County was founded in 1827 and was created by taking area from PhillipsCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Saint Francis had a population of 26,255 people. This is a decrease of 10.48% since the last Census (which gave a population of 29,329 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Saint Francis represented 1.1% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201028,258-3.65%+7.63% since 2009
200826,260-10.46%-1.97% since 2007
200029,329The Last Census

More information can be found on the Saint Francis County Census Page for Saint Francis County.


Below are some of the communities located in Saint Francis County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Saint Francis County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Forrest City   13,19514,77410.69% decrease  
Hughes   1,6761,86710.23% decrease  
Madison   84898714.08% decrease  
Palestine   6847417.69% decrease  
Caldwell   4294657.74% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Communities in Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation