Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Phillips County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Helena is the Seat for Phillips County.

Phillips County was founded in 1820. Phillips was created by taking area from Arkansas and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Phillips had a population of 20,921 people. This is a decrease of 20.89% since the last Census (which gave a population of 26,445 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Phillips represented 0.99% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 25th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,757-17.73%+4% since 2009
200920,921-20.89%-2.5% since 2008
200821,458-18.86%-2.09% since 2007
200026,445The Last Census

More information can be found on the Phillips County Census Page for Phillips County.


Below are some of the communities located in Phillips County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Phillips County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Marvell   1,0911,39521.79% decrease  
Elaine   67586521.97% decrease  
Lakeview   43853117.51% decrease  
Lexa   27133118.13% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Search for a Community located in Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation