Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Monroe County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clarendon is the Seat for Monroe County.

Monroe County was founded in 1839. Monroe was created by taking area from Phillips and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Monroe had a population of 8,171 people. This is a decrease of 20.31% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,254 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Monroe represented 0.38% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 64th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,149-20.53%-0.27% since 2009
20098,171-20.31%-2.2% since 2008
20088,355-18.52%-2.49% since 2007
200010,254The Last Census

More information can be found on the Monroe County Census Page for Monroe County.


Below are some of the communities located in Monroe County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Monroe County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Brinkley   3,0753,94021.95% decrease  
Clarendon   1,5951,96018.62% decrease  
Holly Grove   55672222.99% decrease  
Roe   10012419.35% decrease  
Fargo   9811816.95% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation