Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Boone County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Harrison is the Seat for Boone County.

Boone County was founded in 1869. Boone was created by taking area from Carroll and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Boone had a population of 36,821 people. This is an increase of 8.46% since the last Census (which gave a population of 33,948 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Boone represented 1.27% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201036,903+8.7%+0.22% since 2009
200936,821+8.46%-0.11% since 2008
200836,863+8.59%+0.57% since 2007
200033,948The Last Census

More information can be found on the Boone County Census Page for Boone County.


Below are some of the communities located in Boone County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Boone County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Harrison   13,18412,1528.49% increase  
Diamond City   81073010.96% increase  
Bellefonte   48840022% increase  
Bergman   4454079.34% increase  
Alpena   3923715.66% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Find a Community located in Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation