Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Macon County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Tuskegee is the Seat for Macon County.

Macon County was founded in 1832 and was created by taking area from MontgomeryCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Macon had a population of 21,789 people. This is a decrease of 9.61% since the last Census (which gave a population of 24,105 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Macon represented 0.54% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 44th most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,452-11.01%-1.55% since 2009
200921,789-9.61%-1.83% since 2008
200822,195-7.92%-0.28% since 2007
200024,105The Last Census

More information can be found on the Macon County Census Page for Macon County.


Below are some of the communities located in Macon County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Macon County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Tuskegee   11,06311,8466.61% decrease  
Shorter   3673553.38% increase  
Franklin   1421494.7% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Communities in Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation