Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
West Virginia
The Commemorative Quarter for West Virginia

Time Zone: Mingo County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Williamson is the Seat for Mingo County.

Mingo County was founded in 1895 and was created by taking area from LoganCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Mingo had a population of 26,387 people. This is a decrease of 6.6% since the last Census (which gave a population of 28,253 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Mingo represented 1.56% of the total population of West Virginia, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 55 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201026,839-5%+1.71% since 2009
200926,387-6.6%+0.16% since 2008
200826,344-6.76%-1.26% since 2007
200028,253The Last Census

More information can be found on the Mingo County Census Page for Mingo County.


Below are some of the communities located in Mingo County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Mingo County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Williamson   3,0223,41411.48% decrease  
Matewan   4754984.62% decrease  
Delbarton   4624742.53% decrease  
Gilbert   3884176.95% decrease  
Kermit   23720913.4% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About West Virginia

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for West Virginia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation