Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Wisconsin

Time Zone: Forest County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Crandon is the Seat for Forest County.

Forest County was founded in 1885. Forest was created by taking area from Langlade and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Forest had a population of 9,605 people. This is a decrease of 4.18% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,024 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Forest represented 0.19% of the total population of Wisconsin, making it the state's 68th most populous county (out of 72 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,304-7.18%-3.13% since 2009
20099,605-4.18%-1.51% since 2008
200010,024The Last Census

More information can be found on the Forest County Census Page for Forest County.


Below are some of the communities located in Forest County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Forest County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Crandon   1,8191,9617.24% decrease  
Laona   1,3031,3674.68% decrease  
Wabeno   1,1851,2646.25% decrease  
Nashville   1,1381,1571.64% decrease  
Lincoln   9771,0052.79% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Wisconsin

Search for a Community located in Wisconsin

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation