Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: Walker County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Huntsville is the Seat for Walker County.

Walker County was founded in 1846 and was created by taking area from MontgomeryCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Walker had a population of 64,119 people. This is an increase of 3.82% since the last Census (which gave a population of 61,758 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Walker represented 0.3% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 50th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201067,861+9.88%+5.84% since 2009
200964,119+3.82%+0.89% since 2008
200863,554+2.91%-0.21% since 2007
200061,758The Last Census

More information can be found on the Walker County Census Page for Walker County.


Below are some of the communities located in Walker County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Walker County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Huntsville   38,08735,0788.58% increase  
New Waverly   9199503.26% decrease  
Riverside   4454254.71% increase  

Websites for Walker County

Official Website:   www.co.walker.tx.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Walker County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation