Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: Rusk County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Henderson is the Seat for Rusk County.

Rusk County was founded in 1843 and was created by taking area from NacogdochesCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Rusk had a population of 49,180 people. This is an increase of 3.82% since the last Census (which gave a population of 47,372 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Rusk represented 0.23% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 59th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201053,330+12.58%+8.44% since 2009
200949,180+3.82%+0.47% since 2008
200848,949+3.33%+1.03% since 2007
200047,372The Last Census

More information can be found on the Rusk County Census Page for Rusk County.


Below are some of the communities located in Rusk County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Rusk County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Henderson   11,64811,2733.33% increase  
Overton   2,3832,3501.4% increase  
New London   1,0379875.07% increase  
Mount Enterprise   5465254% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

The Communities of Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation