Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: Lavaca County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hallettsville is the Seat for Lavaca County.

Lavaca County was founded in 1846. Lavaca was created by taking area from Colorado, , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lavaca had a population of 18,539 people. This is a decrease of 3.49% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,210 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lavaca represented 0.09% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 118th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,263+0.28%+3.91% since 2009
200818,539-3.49%-0.58% since 2007
200019,210The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lavaca County Census Page for Lavaca County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lavaca County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lavaca County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Hallettsville   2,4612,3454.95% increase  
Shiner   1,9732,0704.69% decrease  
Moulton   9509440.64% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation