Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: La Salle County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Cotulla is the Seat for La Salle County.

La Salle County was founded in 1858. La Salle was created by taking area from Bexar and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> La Salle had a population of 5,810 people. This is a decrease of 0.95% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,866 people in 2000).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,886+17.39%+18.52% since 2009
20095,810-0.95%-0.14% since 2008
20085,818-0.82%-1.81% since 2007
20005,866The Last Census

More information can be found on the La Salle County Census Page for La Salle County.


Websites for La Salle County

Official Website:   www.co.la-salle.tx.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes La Salle County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation