Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: Dawson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lamesa is the Seat for Dawson County.

Dawson County was founded in 1846 and was created by taking area from BexarCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dawson had a population of 13,657 people. This is a decrease of 8.86% since the last Census (which gave a population of 14,985 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dawson represented 0.07% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 140th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201013,833-7.69%+1.29% since 2009
200913,657-8.86%-0.57% since 2008
200813,735-8.34%-0.51% since 2007
200014,985The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dawson County Census Page for Dawson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Dawson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Dawson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lamesa   8,8159,95211.42% decrease  
O'Donnell   8951,01111.47% decrease  
Ackerly   2252458.16% decrease  
Los Ybanez   29329.38% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

Communities in Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation