Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Van Buren County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Spencer is the Seat for Van Buren County.

Van Buren County was founded in 1840. Van Buren was created by taking area from Warren and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Van Buren had a population of 5,480 people. This is a decrease of 0.51% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,508 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Van Buren represented 0.1% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 94th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,548+0.73%+1.24% since 2009
20095,480-0.51%-0.15% since 2008
20085,488-0.36%+1.11% since 2007
20005,508The Last Census

More information can be found on the Van Buren County Census Page for Van Buren County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

The Communities of Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation