Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Rhea County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dayton is the Seat for Rhea County.

Rhea County was founded in 1807 and was created by taking area from RoaneCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Rhea had a population of 31,516 people. This is an increase of 10.97% since the last Census (which gave a population of 28,400 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Rhea represented 0.5% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 50th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201031,809+12%+0.93% since 2009
200931,516+10.97%+1.44% since 2008
200831,069+9.4%+1.65% since 2007
200028,400The Last Census

More information can be found on the Rhea County Census Page for Rhea County.


Below are some of the communities located in Rhea County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Rhea County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Dayton   6,9216,18011.99% increase  
Spring City   2,1422,0255.78% increase  
Graysville   1,4671,4113.97% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Search for a Tennessee Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation