Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

The 2000 Census showed that Hamilton County had a population of 307,896 people. This represented 5.41% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 4th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

From the Census Estimates for 2009<1>, Hamilton had a population of 337,175 people. This is an increase of 9.51% since the 2000 Census.

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010336,463+9.28%-0.21% since 2009
2009337,175+9.51%+0.91% since 2008
2008334,123+8.52%+0.91% since 2007
2007331,117+7.54%+0.78% since 2006
2006328,551+6.71%+1.49% since 2005
2005323,740+5.15%+1.2% since 2004
2004319,905+3.9%+0.96% since 2003
2003316,875+2.92%+0.75% since 2002
2002314,524+2.15%+0.93% since 2001
2001311,628+1.21%+1.21% since 2000
2000307,896The Last Census

Hamilton County had 134,692 Housing Units<2> at the time of the 2000 Census.

The 2000 Census shows that Hamilton County has a total area<3> of 575 square miles [1,491 km²]. Of this total, 542 square miles [1,404 km²] of the area is land, with the balance (5.78%) being water (33.28 square miles [86.2 km²]).

Using the above population and land area values, Hamilton County had a population density of 567 people per square mile [219.2 people/km²], making it the state's 4th most densely populated county (out of 95 counties).

US Census QuickFacts

The Census Bureau has created documents containing demographic information that are called QuickFacts. A QuickFact that is specific to Hamilton County is available. The QuickFact also contains a comparison between Hamilton and the state of Tennessee.

Click here for the Hamilton County QuickFact (QF-47065).

Below are some of the communities that are located in Hamilton County:

(2009 Est)
(2000 Census)
Change in
East RidgeQF-472272019,98520,640-3.17%
Red BankQF-476196011,76512,418-5.26%
Signal MountainQF-47685407,2537,429-2.37%

Below are the counties that adjoin and form the boundaries of Hamilton County. A link to their specific Census QuickFact has been provided.

(2009 Est.)
(2000 Census)
Change in
Catoosa (GA)QF-13047   S64,03553,28220.18%
Dade (GA)QF-13083   SW16,12715,1546.42%
Walker (GA)QF-13295   S64,98361,0536.44%
Whitfield (GA)QF-13313   SE93,69883,52512.18%
BledsoeQF-47007   N12,96712,3674.85%
BradleyQF-47011   E97,71087,96511.08%
MarionQF-47115   W28,06827,7761.05%
MeigsQF-47121   NE12,10811,0869.22%
RheaQF-47143   NE31,51628,40010.97%
SequatchieQF-47153   NW13,91511,37022.38%

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Find a Community in Tennessee

Off-the-Road Links ...

U.S. Census Bureau
Census QuickFact for Hamilton County

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>A Housing Unit is a broad term for those places where people live (whether occupied or temporarily vacant), such as a house, an apartment, a mobile home, or an area that is considered as a separate living quarter. Separate living quarters (consisting of one or more rooms) are considered to be those places where people live, sleep and eat separately from others and that have access to the outside (either directly or by a shared hallway).

- Return to Citation

<3>The area value has been supplied by the US Census Bureau and it can be different than the geographic boundaries of Hamilton. The value given by the Census Bureau reflects their statistical (or sampling) requirements.

- Return to Citation

<4>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation