Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: DeKalb County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Smithville is the Seat for DeKalb County.

DeKalb County was founded in 1837. DeKalb was created by taking area from Franklin, , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> DeKalb had a population of 18,954 people. This is an increase of 8.79% since the last Census (which gave a population of 17,423 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, DeKalb represented 0.31% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 71st most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201018,723+7.46%-1.22% since 2009
200918,954+8.79%+0.3% since 2008
200818,898+8.47%+1.67% since 2007
200017,423The Last Census

More information can be found on the DeKalb County Census Page for DeKalb County.


Below are some of the communities located in DeKalb County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for DeKalb County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Smithville   4,4303,99410.92% increase  
Alexandria   95281416.95% increase  
Liberty   3963677.9% increase  
Dowelltown   3233026.95% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Find a Community within Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation