Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Carroll County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Huntingdon is the Seat for Carroll County.

Carroll County was founded in 1821.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Carroll had a population of 28,517 people. This is a decrease of 3.25% since the last Census (which gave a population of 29,475 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Carroll represented 0.52% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 47th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
200928,517-3.25%-0.49% since 2008
200828,658-2.77%-0.43% since 2007
200029,475The Last Census

More information can be found on the Carroll County Census Page for Carroll County.


Below are some of the communities located in Carroll County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Carroll County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
McKenzie   5,2975,295  
Huntingdon   4,1094,3495.52% decrease  
Bruceton   1,4321,5547.85% decrease  
Atwood   9601,0004% decrease  
Hollow Rock   9299633.53% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Search for a Community located in Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation