Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Perkins County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bison is the Seat for Perkins County.

Perkins County was founded in 1909. Perkins was created by taking area from Butte and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Perkins had a population of 2,869 people. This is a decrease of 14.69% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,363 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Perkins represented 0.45% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 47th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,982-11.33%+3.94% since 2009
20092,869-14.69%-1.07% since 2008
20082,900-13.77%-0.99% since 2007
20003,363The Last Census

More information can be found on the Perkins County Census Page for Perkins County.


Below are some of the communities located in Perkins County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Perkins County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lemmon   1,1691,39816.38% decrease  
Bison   32337313.4% decrease  
South Perkins   1411336.02% increase  
Duck Creek   151816.67% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation