Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Marshall County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Britton is the Seat for Marshall County.

Marshall County was founded in 1885 and was created by taking area from DayCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marshall had a population of 4,160 people. This is a decrease of 9.09% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,576 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marshall represented 0.61% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 38th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,656+1.75%+11.92% since 2009
20094,160-9.09%-1.82% since 2008
20084,237-7.41%-0.14% since 2007
20004,576The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marshall County Census Page for Marshall County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marshall County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marshall County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Britton   1,2181,3288.28% decrease  
Langford   2732905.86% decrease  
Veblen   24428113.17% decrease  
Eden   88979.28% decrease  
Lake City   424710.64% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation