Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Hutchinson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Olivet is the Seat for Hutchinson County.

Hutchinson County was founded in 1862.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hutchinson had a population of 7,124 people. This is a decrease of 11.78% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,075 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hutchinson represented 1.07% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 22nd most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,343-9.07%+3.07% since 2009
20097,124-11.78%-0.92% since 2008
20087,190-10.96%-1.37% since 2007
20008,075The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hutchinson County Census Page for Hutchinson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Hutchinson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Hutchinson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Parkston   1,4581,67412.9% decrease  
Freeman   1,1771,31710.63% decrease  
Menno   64472911.66% decrease  
Tripp   61971112.94% decrease  
Dimock   13115113.25% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation