Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Carolina
The Commemorative Quarter for South Carolina

Time Zone: Sumter County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sumter is the Seat for Sumter County.

Sumter County was founded in 1798. Sumter was created by taking area from , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sumter had a population of 104,495 people. This is a decrease of 0.14% since the last Census (which gave a population of 104,646 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sumter represented 2.61% of the total population of South Carolina, making it the state's 14th most populous county (out of 46 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010107,456+2.69%+2.83% since 2009
2009104,495-0.14%+0.17% since 2008
2000104,646The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sumter County Census Page for Sumter County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sumter County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sumter County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Sumter   38,41239,6433.11% decrease  
Mayesville   1,0111,0011% increase  
Pinewood   4824595.01% increase  

Websites for Sumter County

Official Website:   www.sumtercountysc.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Sumter County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Carolina

The Communities of South Carolina

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation