Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Carolina
The Commemorative Quarter for South Carolina

Time Zone: Saluda County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Saluda is the Seat for Saluda County.

Saluda County was founded in 1896 and was created by taking area from EdgefieldCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Saluda had a population of 19,094 people. This is a decrease of 0.45% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,181 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Saluda represented 0.48% of the total population of South Carolina, making it the state's 42nd most populous county (out of 46 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,875+3.62%+4.09% since 2009
200919,094-0.45%+0.64% since 2008
200019,181The Last Census

More information can be found on the Saluda County Census Page for Saluda County.


Below are some of the communities located in Saluda County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Saluda County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Saluda   2,9863,0662.61% decrease  
Ridge Spring   7958233.4% decrease  
Ward   1071102.73% decrease  

Websites for Saluda County

Official Website:   www.saludacounty.sc.gov/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Saluda County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Carolina

Search for a Community in South Carolina

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation