Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Oregon

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Pacific Time Zone (PST/PDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of La Grande is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1864 and was created by taking area from BakerCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 25,038 people. This is an increase of 2.07% since the last Census (which gave a population of 24,530 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.72% of the total population of Oregon, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 36 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201025,748+4.97%+2.84% since 2009
200925,038+2.07%-0.14% since 2008
200024,530The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
La Grande   12,70712,3273.08% increase  
Union   1,9611,9261.82% increase  
Elgin   1,6571,6540.18% increase  
Island City   9209160.44% increase  
Cove   6125943.03% increase  

Websites for Union County

Official Website:   www.union-county.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Union County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Oregon

Find a Community in Oregon

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation