Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Oklahoma

Time Zone: McCurtain County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Idabel is the Seat for McCurtain County.

McCurtain County was founded in 1907.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> McCurtain had a population of 33,370 people. This is a decrease of 3% since the last Census (which gave a population of 34,402 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, McCurtain represented 1% of the total population of Oklahoma, making it the state's 28th most populous county (out of 77 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201033,151-3.64%-0.66% since 2009
200933,370-3%-0.36% since 2008
200034,402The Last Census

More information can be found on the McCurtain County Census Page for McCurtain County.


Below are some of the communities located in McCurtain County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for McCurtain County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Idabel   6,7836,9522.43% decrease  
Broken Bow   4,1054,2302.96% decrease  
Wright City   7868487.31% decrease  
Valliant   7387714.28% decrease  
Haworth   3603541.69% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Oklahoma

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Oklahoma

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation