Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Oklahoma

Time Zone: Mayes County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Pryor is the Seat for Mayes County.

Mayes County was founded in 1907.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Mayes had a population of 40,065 people. This is an increase of 4.42% since the last Census (which gave a population of 38,369 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Mayes represented 1.11% of the total population of Oklahoma, making it the state's 24th most populous county (out of 77 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201041,259+7.53%+2.98% since 2009
200840,084+4.47%+0.79% since 2007
200038,369The Last Census

More information can be found on the Mayes County Census Page for Mayes County.


Below are some of the communities located in Mayes County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Mayes County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Pryor Creek   9,2608,6596.94% increase  
Chouteau   2,1731,93112.53% increase  
Locust Grove   1,5961,36616.84% increase  
Salina   1,4791,4224.01% increase  
Adair   7177041.85% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Oklahoma

Search for a Community in Oklahoma

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation