Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Ohio

Time Zone: Monroe County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Woodsfield is the Seat for Monroe County.

Monroe County was founded January 29, 1813. Monroe was created by taking area from Belmont, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Monroe had a population of 14,058 people. This is a decrease of 7.39% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,180 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Monroe represented 0.13% of the total population of Ohio, making it the state's 85th most populous county (out of 88 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201014,642-3.54%+4.15% since 2009
200914,058-7.39%-1.06% since 2008
200814,208-6.4%-0.14% since 2007
200015,180The Last Census

More information can be found on the Monroe County Census Page for Monroe County.


Below are some of the communities located in Monroe County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Monroe County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Woodsfield   2,3882,5988.08% decrease  
Clarington   4224444.95% decrease  
Beallsville   4024234.96% decrease  
Lewisville   2212335.15% decrease  
Jerusalem   1441525.26% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Ohio

Cities, Towns and Villages of Ohio

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation