Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New York
The Commemorative Quarter for New York

Time Zone: Wayne County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lyons is the Seat for Wayne County.

Wayne County was founded in 1823. Wayne was created by taking area from Ontario and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Wayne had a population of 91,291 people. This is a decrease of 2.64% since the last Census (which gave a population of 93,765 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Wayne represented 0.49% of the total population of New York, making it the state's 31st most populous county (out of 62 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
200991,291-2.64%-0.25% since 2008
200093,765The Last Census

More information can be found on the Wayne County Census Page for Wayne County.


Below are some of the communities located in Wayne County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Wayne County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Arcadia   13,91514,8896.54% decrease  
Ontario   10,1899,7784.2% increase  
Newark   9,0349,6826.69% decrease  
Macedon   8,8558,6881.92% increase  
Walworth   8,7698,4024.37% increase  

Websites for Wayne County

Official Website:   www.co.wayne.ny.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Wayne County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New York

Find a Community in New York

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation