Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New York
The Commemorative Quarter for New York

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Malone is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County was founded in 1808 and was created by taking area from ClintonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 50,274 people. This is a decrease of 1.68% since the last Census (which gave a population of 51,134 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 0.27% of the total population of New York, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 62 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201051,599+0.91%+2.64% since 2009
200950,274-1.68%-0.33% since 2008
200051,134The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Malone   14,69114,9811.94% decrease  
Malone   5,7446,0755.45% decrease  
Harrietstown   5,4885,5751.56% decrease  
Saranac Lake   4,7695,0415.4% decrease  
Tupper Lake   3,7993,9353.46% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New York

Find a Community located in New York

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation