Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Mexico
The Commemorative Quarter for New Mexico

Time Zone: Luna County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Deming is the Seat for Luna County.

Luna County was founded in 1901. Luna was created by taking area from Dona Ana and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Luna had a population of 27,044 people. This is an increase of 8.11% since the last Census (which gave a population of 25,016 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Luna represented 1.38% of the total population of New Mexico, making it the state's 18th most populous county (out of 33 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201025,095+0.32%-7.21% since 2009
200927,044+8.11%-0.19% since 2008
200827,095+8.31%+1.1% since 2007
200025,016The Last Census

More information can be found on the Luna County Census Page for Luna County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Mexico

Find a Community in New Mexico

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation