Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Hampshire
The Commemorative Quarter for New Hampshire

Time Zone: Sullivan County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Newport is the Seat for Sullivan County.

Sullivan County was founded in 1827 and was created by taking area from CheshireCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sullivan had a population of 42,692 people. This is an increase of 5.52% since the last Census (which gave a population of 40,458 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sullivan represented 3.27% of the total population of New Hampshire, making it the state's 9th most populous county (out of 10 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201043,742+8.12%+2.46% since 2009
200942,692+5.52%-0.28% since 2008
200842,813+5.82%+0.14% since 2007
200040,458The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sullivan County Census Page for Sullivan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sullivan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sullivan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Claremont   12,97013,1511.38% decrease  
Newport   6,5316,2694.18% increase  
Charlestown   4,8564,7492.25% increase  
Sunapee   3,3753,05510.47% increase  
Grantham   2,5382,16717.12% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Hampshire

Visit our Community Index for New Hampshire

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation