Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Sheridan County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Rushville is the Seat for Sheridan County.

Sheridan County was founded in 1885 and was created by taking area from SiouxCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Sheridan had a population of 5,264 people. This is a decrease of 15.07% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,198 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Sheridan represented 0.36% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 52nd most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,469-11.76%+3.89% since 2009
20095,264-15.07%-0.49% since 2008
20085,290-14.65%-2.07% since 2007
20006,198The Last Census

More information can be found on the Sheridan County Census Page for Sheridan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Sheridan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Sheridan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Gordon   1,4771,75615.89% decrease  
Rushville   83799916.22% decrease  
Hay Springs   5896529.66% decrease  
Clinton   263013.33% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Find a Community within Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation