Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Morrill County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bridgeport is the Seat for Morrill County.

Morrill County was founded in 1908 and was created by taking area from CheyenneCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Morrill had a population of 4,911 people. This is a decrease of 9.72% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,440 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Morrill represented 0.32% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 56th most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,042-7.32%+2.67% since 2009
20094,911-9.72%-1.01% since 2008
20084,961-8.81%-0.82% since 2007
20005,440The Last Census

More information can be found on the Morrill County Census Page for Morrill County.


Below are some of the communities located in Morrill County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Morrill County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bridgeport   1,4301,59410.29% decrease  
Bayard   1,0971,24712.03% decrease  
Broadwater   1281408.57% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Search for a Community in Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation