Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: McPherson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Tryon is the Seat for McPherson County.

McPherson County was founded in 1887.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> McPherson had a population of 488 people. This is a decrease of 8.44% since the last Census (which gave a population of 533 people in 2000).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010539+1.13%+10.45% since 2009
2009488-8.44%-5.24% since 2008
2008515-3.38%+1.38% since 2007
2000533The Last Census

More information can be found on the McPherson County Census Page for McPherson County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Communities in Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation