Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Kimball County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Kimball is the Seat for Kimball County.

Kimball County was founded in 1888 and was created by taking area from CheyenneCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Kimball had a population of 3,576 people. This is a decrease of 12.55% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,089 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Kimball represented 0.24% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 61st most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,821-6.55%+6.85% since 2009
20093,576-12.55%+0.79% since 2008
20083,548-13.23%-1.69% since 2007
20004,089The Last Census

More information can be found on the Kimball County Census Page for Kimball County.


Below are some of the communities located in Kimball County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Kimball County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Kimball   2,2222,55913.17% decrease  
Dix   23426712.36% decrease  
Bushnell   13816214.81% decrease  

Websites for Kimball County

Official Website:   www.co.kimball.ne.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Kimball County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Visit our Community Index for Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation