Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Deuel County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Chappell is the Seat for Deuel County.

Deuel County was founded in 1888 and was created by taking area from CheyenneCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Deuel had a population of 1,839 people. This is a decrease of 12.35% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,098 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Deuel represented 0.12% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 78th most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,941-7.48%+5.55% since 2009
20091,839-12.35%-1.82% since 2008
20081,873-10.72%-0.69% since 2007
20002,098The Last Census

More information can be found on the Deuel County Census Page for Deuel County.


Websites for Deuel County

Official Website:   www.co.deuel.ne.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Deuel County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Search for a Nebraska Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation